You may have noticed the number of adverts that aim at making a star out of you:

A well-known brand of biscuits encourages buyers to race each other on how to lick the cream and eat the biscuit as quickly as possible

A supermarket wants you to film yourself cooking one of their cheap and tasty recipes and promises if you do well you could be on their TV adverts later this week.

And so on…

Clever marketing ploy or desperate attempt at increasing sales figures by luring customers into their technicolor world?

I don’t know about you but I am not convinced that turning us into marketing stars can turn any superfluous product into an essential product. I am afraid I am a bit of a nightmare for marketeers, I tend to use things until they fall apart and only as the last resort I buy something new, and when I do, I look for the best price-quality ratio. And I know that our happiness depends on something far more complex than licking the cream off the biscuits – I’ll leave that to the cats.

